HomeSportsthird T20I: West Indies hand New Zealand first limited-overs lack of 2022...

third T20I: West Indies hand New Zealand first limited-overs lack of 2022 | Cricket Information – Occasions of India

INGSTON: West Indies handed New Zealand their first limited-overs defeat of the 12 months in cruising to a comfort eight-wicket win within the third and closing T20 Worldwide at Sabina Park on Sunday.
Odean Smith improved on his career-best T20I bowling figures for the third time in 4 matches because the quick bowling all-rounder claimed three for 29.

That helped restrict the Black Caps to 145 for seven after captain Kane Williamson selected to bat first.
New Zealand had already wrapped up the sequence by margins of 13 and 90 runs within the first two matches.
West Indies’ platform for the comfy win was established by openers Shamarh Brooks (56 not out) and Brandon King (53) in a 102-run opening stand.

“This was special, being able to give this performance at home,” mentioned King on receiving the person of the match award for his 35-ball innings.
“My job is the same no matter what total we are chasing, which is to get the team off to a good start.”
Main the facet within the absence of standard captain Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell sealed victory in fashion off the final ball of the nineteenth over as the house facet reached 150 for 2.
New Zealand struggled to determine any form of batting momentum though Glen Phillips was once more in prime kind, top-scoring with 41 off 26 balls earlier than falling to Smith in the beginning of the seventeenth over.
“West Indies adapted to the conditions nicely and we just couldn’t open up an end with the ball,” Williamson conceded.
“Our focus is to achieve consistency in our performances.”
Left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein, rested from the primary two matches of the sequence, claimed two for 28.
He claimed the primary wicket of the match when he bowled Martin Guptill within the third over.
This was a disappointing sequence for the veteran opener however with Sunday’s rating of 15 he not less than had the satisfaction of elevating his total T20I run tally to three,497, ten greater than India captain Rohit Sharma as the highest run-getter in all T20I cricket.
The 2 groups now play a three-match One-Day Worldwide sequence starting on Wednesday in Barbados.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments