HomeSportsAIFF Elections: Returning Officer finds all 20 nomination papers in order after...

AIFF Elections: Returning Officer finds all 20 nomination papers in order after scrutiny- Newslength

The returning officer for the All India Soccer Federation (AIFF) elections, scheduled for September 2, on Sunday discovered all of the 20 nomination papers to be so as after scrutiny.

The 20 nomination papers pertain to 2 candidates every for the posts of president, vp and treasurer, and 14 for the chief committee members. “After conducting scrutiny of nomination forms for the posts of president, vice president, treasurer and executive committee members, all 20 nomination forms have been found correct,” RO Umesh Sinha mentioned.

Elections are to be held for the posts of 1 president, one vp, one treasurer and 14 government committee members. Six former gamers 4 male and two girls will probably be co- opted later as government committee members with voting rights. Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers earlier than 1pm on Tuesday.

The highest three prime posts of the president, vp and treasurer may see straight fights between two candidates with the legendary Bhaichung Bhutia up in opposition to former goalkeeper and frontrunner Kalyan Chaubey because the presidential candidates.

The electoral faculty of 34 representatives from the state associations have already been issued by the returning officer. Rajasthan affiliation president Manvendra Singh, a Congress politician, entered the fray on Saturday to contest in opposition to N A Haris for the lone vice-president’s publish. Haris is the president of Karnataka FA and a sitting Congress MLA from the state.

Manvendra’s state affiliation had seconded the candidature of Bhutia. Andhra Pradesh state affiliation president Gopalakrishna Kosaraju, who had proposed Bhutia because the presidential candidate, had on Friday written a letter to withdraw his candidature for the treasurer’s publish in opposition to Kipa Ajay of Arunachal Pradesh.

However sources mentioned he had not stuffed up a kind to withdraw and therefore, his candidature remains to be there. It’s not identified whether or not he would withdraw or not earlier than the Tuesday deadline.

He had filed his nomination papers on Thursday, the identical day when Bhutia and Chaubey additionally put up their candidature. All of the 14 candidates who had filed nomination papers for a similar variety of government committee members are anticipated to be elected unopposed. They’re G P Palguna, Avijit Paul, P Anilkumar,Valanka Natasha Alemao, Maloji Raje Chhatrapati, Menla Ethenpa, Mohan Lal, Arif Ali, Ok Neibou Sekhose, Lalnghinglova Hmar, Deepak Sharma, Vijay Bali and Syed Imtiaz Husain.

Soccer Delhi president Shaji Prabhakaran, who had filed the nomination papers for the president’s publish when the polls had been to be held below the aegis of the Supreme Courtroom-appointed Committee of Directors (CoA) on August 28, determined to not stand for elections this time.

In keeping with sources, Prabhakaran may turn out to be the final secretary of the AIFF if the Chaubey-led group wins the polls. In a verdict on August 22, the SC terminated the mandate of the CoA, disallowed the inclusion of 36 former gamers within the electoral faculty and postponed the polls by per week to be able to salvage the Girls’s U-17 World Cup whose internet hosting was jeopardised after FIFA suspended the AIFF.

The FIFA although lifted the ban on Friday, clearing the decks for India to host the Girls’s U-17 World Cup in October.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments